Improving our perspectives

One of my favorite passages of scripture is Psalm 121. It begins with these words,
“I lift up my eyes to the hills
from where will my help come?
My help comes from the Lord,
who made heaven and earth.”

Countless times these words have led me to a place of renewed energy, deeper insight and increased faith while providing me great solace. The world around us is not always the way we expect or hope it to be, and events in our own journey of life do not always transpire as we have envisioned.

When events in life do not turn out as you thought they would, or the results of your efforts leave you unfulfilled and perhaps even disillusioned, where do you turn? What do you hold onto when you realize the temporal nature of those things you think will never fail or end. And, from what do you draw energy and strength when sickness, aging, or loss of a loved one is more difficult than you thought? I encourage you to spend some time reading and reflecting on this or some other passage of Scripture. It is amazing, at least to me, how much my perspective is improved when I read, reflect, pray and listen. After all, God is always with us and always ready to spend time with us.

This evening, Dr. Roxburgh continues a study of Paul’s letter to the church at Philippi. This is the third of four sessions with each session focusing on one of the four chapters of Philippians. This study will immediately follow the weekly Fellowship Meal and Prayer Time.

I look forward to seeing you this evening.
screen-shot-2016-12-28-at-1-11-42-pm

Improving our perspectives

Leave a Reply

